Pay by CARD (50%) or CASH on delivery | Call us on 81 209111
LEBANESE VEGAN WINES
Happy #WorldVeganDay!

Since wine is made from grapes and yeast, people tend to assume that all wines are vegan-friendly. However, during winemaking, most wines are clarified in a process called “fining” which helps winemakers obtain a clearer looking wine; and it’s often the traditional fining agents employed that make a wine unsuitable for vegans.


Animal-based products such as egg whites, casein (a protein found in milk) or isinglass (a fish byproduct) have often been used to fine the wine and remove these tiny particles you see in a bottle that makes it look “hazy”.

Today, with the world moving towards a more mindful way of living and consuming, winemakers have started to either leave the particles to sink naturally to the bottom of the bottle, or use non-animal fining products such as Carbon, bentonite clay, limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, silica gel, or vegetable plaques.

So, if a wine has not been fined, filtered or has not come into contact with anything derived from an animal or dairy source, it is considered vegan.

A big number of Lebanese wineries have gone the vegan route, and we’ve gathered them all for you HERE!
November 01, 2021 — 209 Lebanese Wine

Leave a comment

Please note: comments must be approved before they are published.